Tutorial

What is the Advanced Renewal Date Calculation? Prorate membership fees

The "Activate Advanced Renewal Calculations" is when you want to prorate members who renew from one pricing plan and go to another. The site does a calculation based on the remaining value of the days left remaining compared to the planned just renewed to.

When turned on, it does the following when someone renews:

- if they renew to a different priced plan than the one they are on, then it calculates the "value" of how many days they still had remaining at the old rate in comparison to what the value in days is now at the new rate.

So if someone was at a $10 for 30 day basic plan, their value per day was .33 cents. If they still had 10 days left when they renewed, that means they had .33 x 10 = $3.33 days of value left in their membership. So if they upgraded to the $20 for 10 day "gold plan", their 10 days left remaining would account for 5 days at the new plan's value. Their next renewal date would be the 30 days they just renewed at plus the 5 days of value they still had on the old plan.

In the case that someone has a free plan for 30 days, and then upgrades to a paid plan with 10 days left when they renewed. The member will not receive the additional 10 days added to their paid subscription, instead the plan will start new with the current paid plans amount of days.

Another scenario considering free membership plans, would be if someone was on a paid plan and downgrades to a free plan with 10 days left when they renewed. The member will receive those 10 days added on to their new free plan.

Without the Advanced Renewal Date Calculations option on, the site simply adds the number of days purchases onto what ever was remaining. So if they had 10 days left, then renewed to a higher 30 day plan, they would now be 40 days away from renewal.

The 'Activate Advanced Renewal Date Calculations' is found under 'Custom Settings'