When you set the status of a member to 'Cancelled', MemberGate will keep the status as cancelled until the member gets to their expiration date. The member is allowed to access the member side of your site up to the last day they have paid for their subscription.
The member's status will automatically be changed to 'Inactive' when the expired date has been reached.
When the member is set to cancelled, MemberGate will not send out any future recurring billing for that member.
You can view all of your cancelled members by using the "Cancellation Report" on the right side of your control panel.